The rail system in Adelaide, South Australia, includes six different lines and 89 stations.

Adelaide railway station

Adelaide Railway Station represents the central terminus of the Adelaide railway system. All lines approach it from the west. The terminal station has no through lines, with most of the traffic on the metropolitan system either terminating or departing from it. The station includes nine platforms with all of them using broad gauge tracks. It is situated on the north side of North Terrace, west of Parliament House. Until 1984, terminus used to be the station for regional and interstate passenger trains, but currently, there are no regular local train services in South Australia. At the moment, all domestic services are handled by Adelaide Parklands Terminal.